top of page
Search

A Review of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sanchez

If you are anything like me, you don't always see eye-to-eye with your parents. Erika Sanchez's novel focuses on Julia's relationship with her parents, particularly her mother, after the death of her older sister. Julia feels like an outsider in her home because she does not hold the values of a stereotypical female: namely staying close to home, cooking, cleaning, etc... Julia wants to be a writer, and she wants to travel beyond her Chicago hometown to make her own way in the world. This book is chockfull of humor, teen drama, romance, and tears. :( I loved this book! I feel like this book was so raw and genuine in terms of showing the relationship between Julia and her Ama (mother).

This novel brought me back to my teenage self that would lock the door and spill her emotions into a journal. I don't want to say too much about Julia's sister, Olga, because a lot of the suspense is linked to her storyline.


Some possible Journal Topics to reflect on this novel are:

  • What are some misconceptions that my parents and other family members have about me?

  • What questions can I ask my parents in order to uncover information that I may not know about them?

  • What do I want from my future? Is it different than what my parents may expect from me?







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page